welke voormalige atleet werd in 2015 voorzitter van de iaaf

In 2015, a former athlete was elected president of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF). The IAAF is the international governing body for track and field, long-distance running, cross-country running, race walking, and road running. Sebastian Coe was appointed as the new president of the IAAF, replacing the outgoing president Lamine Diack.

Former Athlete Elected IAAF President in 2015

In 2015, the IAAF elected Sebastian Coe as its new president. Coe is a former British athlete who had competed in the middle-distance events during his career. He won four Olympic medals and set twelve world records. Coe was the chairman of the London Organizing Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games (LOCOG) from 2005 to 2012 and was also a member of the British Parliament from 1992 to 1997.

Appointment of Sebastian Coe to IAAF Presidency

The IAAF Council unanimously voted in favor of Coe’s appointment as president in 2015. Following his election, Coe stated that he was “honored and humbled” to have been chosen for the role and that he was “determined to build on the strong foundations laid by [his] predecessor, Lamine Diack”. Coe also vowed to strengthen the IAAF’s anti-doping measures and to make the sport of athletics a “clean and fair” competition.

Sebastian Coe’s election as president of the IAAF marked a new era for the sport of athletics. With Coe at the helm, the IAAF is looking to further strengthen its anti-doping measures and ensure a level playing field for all athletes. It is hoped that Coe will be able to continue the legacy of his predecessor, Lamine Diack, and take the sport into a new era of success and integrity.

Related Articles

Latest Articles

All Categories